A First

I finally broke my two week streak of not making it to the gym by enjoying a lovely interval 5K row (10 sets 500m each).  It was hot and muggy and the output of the oscillating fan was pure bliss.  Everything was moving a long just fine until the 5th set which is when something that has never happened to me before at CrossFit finally happened – I developed two blisters, one below each of my middle fingers, and they began to tear open.

20170803_205421
My first CrossFit blister after 3 years of CrossFit

Now, a blister is an injury.  It’s not something to keep moving on and seeing how bad it can get/see how much you can tear up your hand.  I waited until the end of the set and then jumped off my rower to get my goat tape; I taped up my blisters and then started back into the workout.  Hand injuries like this are not uncommon in CrossFit as you put a lot of weight/tension on the upper part of the palm.  But blisters aren’t cool (in the sense of the injury being created but way cool in your body protecting itself) and should be treated like any other injury.  Bleeding, raw meaty hands are gross (do NOT post them on Instagram/Facebook and brag about it, it’s like having to watch the video of a football player breaking his leg over and over).  If you start to feel your skin pulling or a blister forming, take the time to protect and pad the area or just switch to V-Ups or a scaled option of whatever you’re doing, if possible.  In taking the time to prevent a worse injury, your recovery time will be shorter and you’ll be back at it sooner.

Also, happy CrossFit games (though it’s now drawing to a close).  Did you have a favorite?  How did they do?  It’s been a busy weekend so I haven’t had a chance to follow but I did get to visit the place from which 40 semis full of CrossFit equipment departed: Rogue headquarters in Columbus, Ohio!

20170805_140009

The retail store was pretty sparse but it’s my understanding that they just moved locations so perhaps they’re just in the process of getting everything up and running.  I did get a pair of wrist wraps  I’ve been eyeing (red and white-striped) and a sweet zip-up hoody.  I drooled over some Bella bars and had a good chuckle at the amount of booty shorts they had displayed (two racks).  I had never handled lifters before, I was surprised how heavy they were!

In other news, I actually did some meal-planning this week.  I’ll post some recipes later this week.  Hoping to get back on at least somewhat of a track which has been difficult with showings and prepping our house to sell.  Definitely focused on prep-able meals and slow cooker recipes, we’ll see how it goes.

I’m looking forward to seeing the final podiums at the Games!  Have a great Sunday!

 

Leave a Reply

