Why Have You Not DONE This Yet?

This is a story of a rock. Actually many rocks.

My husband and I were walking the dogs and he found a painted rock. We picked it up and looked at it. On the back was a # and directions telling us to take a picture, post to this Facebook Group (Northeast Ohio Rocks) and rehide the rock. So we did.

I went to the group to discover close to 200,000 people painting and hiding rocks for others to find. And I thought, I can do this! I love to paint stuff. So I went into the yard, found a few rocks and painted some ‘hero’ logos on them (spiderman, superman, batman etc.) and #herorocks was born. Scroll through the page and you will see so many pictures of very happy humans. Turns out that when one finds a painted rock, it really makes your entire day!

Since then, I’ve gone to a rock store and purchased rocks. And earlier this week I discovered that WalMart (of all places) sold 3-5′ FLAT, ROUND rocks!!!  So I ordered 60 pounds of them. The people at ‘site to store’ are going to hate me, not that I care.

I paint them in large batches in the evening. I find this so enjoyable that I have to force myself to go to bed so I can get up for crossfit in the morning!

So even if you aren’t artistically inclined, take your dog for a walk and SLOW DOWN and look around. You just might get lucky and discover not only a painted rock, but a new, very relaxing hobby.IMG_3255[1]

Leave a Reply

