Doesn’t Play Nice With Others

5am is not exactly my most shining time of the day.  I’m talking I-rolled-out-of-bed-15-minutes-ago-and-i-havent-had-any-coffee-yet personality.  This is not my bubbliest time of the day, in fact, I’d be just fine if I didn’t speak to anyone until I get some coffee (in about an hour and half) but recently that hasn’t been an option.  Our gym had been having people partner up for warmups pretty much daily, scheduling a weekly partner wod, and generally we work in groups due to limited rig space and large morning classes.  

Let me pause and say that I love my group at 5am… they’re great people and I love my coaches. Also, I 0% have to worry about finding a partner during class because I know most everyone and someone will be my partner and if not….. Shucks…I’ll have to warm up by myself. 

Having to find a partner in the morning is the absolute worst (in my opinion)….I dread it… I just am not ready to interact and socialize at 5am…I want to be in my own head.  I want to come in, do my work, and leave to get coffee.  

Don’t get me wrong, I love encouragement, the people in my 5am crew and my gym but, ugh, I just need my space that early in the morning.

What are your thoughts on partner wods?  Is the encouragement and support during the wod worth the agony of interacting that early in the morning?  Would love to hear your thoughts on the partner experience!

Leave a Reply

