Meal Prep Monday/Sunday

My partner in crossfit crime posted her meal plans for the week, and I thought I would share what I do, since we both ride the macro train, but have very different approaches to it, I think.

I vary my carbs and fats throughout the week to try to keep my body guessing. So I have Super, High, Medium and Low days, cycled S-M-L-H-M-M-L. My protein never varies at 155g. Medium carbs are 235g and medium fats are 49g, High days is 255g carbs, same fats. Low days are 145g carbs and 65g fats. Super days are high carb and high fats (those are great days for that ‘cheat’ meal that is not quite as healthy as you would like it to be). My calories will cycle between 1785 – 2081 between super and low days, which is still enough to keep me fueled for crossfit.

For breakfast, I always have a Quest bar. 210 cal, 20c, 9f and 21p

I generally do 1 – 1.5 scoops of protein powder as a mid-morning snack (the difference between them depends on the amount of protein from real food the rest of the day). 30-45g protein, 4f 3c

We plan our lunches and dinners around the various activities for our son and myself and also now based on when my hubby gets home from work (it used to be 3:30 every day, now it varies, but the earliest is 5:30).

This week dinners will become the following day’s lunch. Creamy cauliflower shrimp chowder, sheet pan steak and veggies, zucchini shrimp scampi (Thank you Keri), BBQ chicken and roasted sweet potato and shrimp fried rice.

We also have our son’s 18th birthday on Sat. We will be going zip-lining, which none of us have ever done. But that means that macros will be blown all to hell and back on Sat, which I really don’t care about. 1. I’m not a Games athlete, nor do I want to be. 2. I’m also not going to worry myself over every little detail every day. 3. It’s a birthday for goodness sake!

I haven’t input the recipes into MFP yet. I generally input them the night before and then add more protein drink, or Chex mix or an apple to make up the carbs and protein. I’m rarely over on fats. But when I stick to this plan (and that is always the key), I feel better, perform better and should lose a little bit of weight. Slowly is always the key and I can eat just about anything, as long as it fits into these macros. What I quickly discovered though was if I eat tons of ‘crap’, then I get really hungry since I’m not filling up on the good stuff.

This is my last weekend of sabbatical (boo), so I will be doing the shopping and meal prep tomorrow (we spent today in the garden). Normally we do the shopping/prep on Sunday, but I’ve rather enjoyed spending the time with my family on Sundays these past few weeks. I should probably convince myself to get up earlier on Sundays to do the shopping so we can spend the afternoon together…sigh.

Is it just me, or was life simpler when I wasn’t worried about macros and healthy eating?!  hahaha

Leave a Reply

