The Ski-erg

I’ve been dealing with a calf/Achilles tendon issue for several months now and for the past few weeks my coaches have been modifying just about everything, even creating all new workouts when necessary.  This has meant limited rowing, limited biking, no running, no squats with weight, and other moves with greatly reduced weight. It has also meant a LOT of core work, which I admit I desperately need.

We’ve starting this rowing session these past few weeks and for me, that has meant a lot of time on the ski-erg. (If you don’t know what that is, or have never used one, check them out at Rogue’s site Ski-Erg)

I’ve done intervals of varying distances, ME calories for certain time and even a 5k. I am at the point where I’ve actually come to kind of LIKE being on the ski-erg. It is certainly far less painful than the Assault Bike that’s for sure. The Assault Bike and I will never be on good terms. The Concept2 rower and I are barely on speaking terms, but we are slowing reaching an understanding that while our relationship may never be overly friendly we are slowly learning to at least appreciate each other.

But there is something about the ski-erg that I actually like. I seem to be slower at skiing than rowing, but that makes sense to me since it does seem to use less legs. At first, it seems to be decidedly all upper body, but after doing the 5k, my butt and hamstrings were incredibly sore, so it’s not all upper body. Today was 5 sets of 1000m with a 2 min rest between. We were supposed to try to go about 1s faster than our best 5k pace. Now I’ve done a 5k only once and it took me nearly 30 minutes (28:54 if you want the exact time). I’m not really sure I was that much faster, but I felt good and it felt a little faster.

I’m not sure I’m supposed to like this piece of equipment and I may still never be the best skier in the class, but I found a cardio thing that I like and that is something I will take.

Leave a Reply

