The Times They Be A-Changin’

It has been 4.5ish years since I moved to Wooster.  For the first 2 years, I worked night shift at in an ICU.  My commute round trip was about 2 hours and I worked 12.5 hour shifts. My weekly commute time was about 6 hours. For the last 2.5 years, I’ve worked at a different hospital but during the day and my commute increased to 10 hours per week but I wasnt working as late (and only rare weekends, no holidays).  My last day commuting was yesterday and I can’t tell you how relieved I feel.  To know that I don’t have to leave my house at 630am and rush to work and to know I might be home at a more reasonable hour…. I just can’t express what a relief I feel.

It was an interesting experience to transition out of my job.  Every other job ive ever had was either shift work or a student job…i had no work that carried over or was ongoing.  For the past two weeks, I have been downloading my almost 3 years of knowledge to multiple individuals who will be taking over for me.  Mentally, it was exhausting. Trying to go back, think about the things that only I know and trying to write them down or regurgitate the knowledge on command.  I hope I did it well, I still care very deeply for the people and work I was doing.  It was certainly a very unique and new experience for me and I learned a lot about myself.

So, now onto new adventures. Maybe I’ll have more time for meal planning and skill work.  But isn’t this what I said when I finished school so many years ago?  Something always comes along to fill that new “free time”.  

But, today is a mental break day…Me + Netflix forever.  

Leave a Reply

