The Open is for (almost) Everyone

So the CrossFit Games Open is upon us (#theopenisuponus) and it seems like everyone is posting new profile pictures with Open frames and the ever popular hash tag #intheopen.  So, here’s my confession and catharsis: I am not in the open.  In fact, I have never been in the Open and I’ve been doing crossfit for three years.

So, why not.  Well, I guess the simple answer is that I’m just not into it.  I don’t feel the need to pay the fee.  I don’t want to be judged. I don’t want to post my shitty score on the internet.  I don’t want to feel like i need to spend the next 5 Saturdays in the gym.  The Open is just not my thing.

There are some aspects of the season that I do like:  I enjoy waiting for the workouts to be posted.  I like reading the strategies and the interpretations.  One of the coolest things I saw today was an Open Workout  specific recommended targeted warmup from Squat University on Instagram.  I loved watching my friends and fellow athletes kill 17.1.  I loved cheering them on from my rower where i was doing intervals (and tearing up my heels but that’s a separate issue).  Also, I love watching the CrossFit games.  I’m a fan, but to me the Open and the Games are best left as spectator sports.

So here’s my message to you: it’s totally okay to get excited and pumped about the open; to dedicate time and effort to compete against all of CrossFitdom – I tip my hat to your commitment and your enthusiasm.  It’s also okay not to do the Open.  It makes you no less dedicated to your fitness, nutrition, CrossFit, your box, etc, etc.

Maybe next year.

Leave a Reply

