The Rule of 5

Ok…so last year the coaches were all about PMA (Positive Mental Attitude). In fact, they challenged me to post to their Facebook page once per week about this, which I managed to do, but I basically rarely bought into it because I was having such a crap year (at least in my mind). It doesn’t help that I’m basically a pessimist at heart; if something bad can happen, it WILL happen. I remember in high school and college, I would always leave a test of exam thinking “well, I just bombed that” because if I really DID bomb it (that hardly ever happened) then I was mentally prepared. And then anything above bombing was seen as a positive thing! But I have found this doesn’t really prepare one for crossfit and the confidence that is needed for some of these moves.

So here is my new rule for myself. If I feel I did poorly on a workout, I will allow myself 5 seconds to pout. And then I will allow myself 5 minutes to seriously THINK about how I could have done better. Could I have lifted more, pulled a tad harder on the rower, done one more burpee? The only requirement here is that I must be honest with myself. If I seriously gave it my all, then there is no reason to be unhappy. If I could have done a tad more, then I will note that in my journal and simply move on. No more pouting, pondering, or beating myself up for days (yes….days….). I get a total of 5 seconds and then 5 minutes

We shall see how long this lasts, but I’m going to give it a try!

Leave a comment